Group roles in Archie define a person's involvement with Cochrane.

Group roles are allocated to contacts in Archie to:

  • Grant permissions to access specific resources or perform specific tasks (e.g. access reviews in the editorial phase; vote in Executive elections)
  • Identify key user and stakeholder groups and define their permission and access levels

A person's group role in Archie does not need to align to the person's job title. You can use the Role Specification field to add further information if needed.

Choosing the correct role

There is a defined list of roles available in your group. Use the role that corresponds to the permission levels appropriate to that person. See Access to Archie: group roles and permissions.

How are roles allocated?

  • Roles within a group are allocated by the group’s Super Users. See Assigning roles to people.
  • There is no upper limit to the number of roles a person can have.

Active and inactive roles

When a role is created, it shows by default as Active. If a user is no longer active in a role, the role should be removed. 

If a person is no longer actively contributing to your group, but you do not wish to delete the role, you can mark the role as Inactive. This can be used for author roles on published reviews (author roles on withdrawn protocols reviews can be deleted).

When a role is marked as inactive, all permissions that rely exclusively on that role are removed.

If your group is the person’s primary group, you should change the person's primary group before making their roles in your Group inactive. 

If all a person’s roles are marked as inactive, the person's overall status will change to inactive. See Inactive status.

Group roles and Document roles

Document and Group roles generally work independently of each other.

However, if you try to delete a person’s last role within your group, and the person still has a Document role, you will get a warning message. You will need to decide if the Document role should also be removed.

  • If you add an Author Document Role for a person who does not yet have an Author role within your group, Archie will create that automatically.
  • You cannot delete the Author role for a person who has a Document role for a review in your group. You can choose to remove the Document role, and then delete the Author role (e.g. if the review has been withdrawn); or make the Author role inactive.