Group roles in Archie define a person's involvement with Cochrane.
Group roles are allocated to contacts in Archie to:
- Grant permissions to access specific resources or perform specific tasks (e.g. access reviews in the editorial phase; vote in Executive elections)
- Identify key user and stakeholder groups and define their permission and access levels
A person's group role in Archie does not need to align to the person's job title. You can use the Role Specification field to add further information if needed.
Choosing the correct role
There is a defined list of roles available in your group. Use the role that corresponds to the permission levels appropriate to that person. See Group role permissions.
How are roles allocated?
- Roles within a group are allocated by the group’s Super Users.
- See Assigning roles to people.
- There is no upper limit to the number of roles a person can have.
Active and inactive roles
When a role is created, it shows by default as Active. If a user is no longer active in a role, the role should be removed. If the person has no other active roles in any group, you should request a role for the contact within the Membership Project in order to remove your group role. The role of Possible Contributor within the Membership Project grants no Archie permissions but retains the person’s Cochrane account. Use the Suggest Changes function in Archie to request that this role is added to the contact's record, and your group role removed.
If a person is no longer actively contributing to your group, but you do not wish to delete the role, you can mark the role as Inactive. This can be used for author roles on published reviews (author roles on withdrawn protocols reviews can be deleted).
If all a person’s roles are marked as inactive, the person's overall status will change to inactive. See Inactive status.
Group roles and Document roles
Document and Group roles generally work independently of each other.