Users with maximum workflow permissions can insert tasks in active workflows and in the workflow templates

There are two ways of inserting tasks:

  • Before the selected task - all the inserted tasks run sequentially.  
  • Parallel to the selected task - all the inserted tasks run in parallel, having the same predecessor and successor.

You can insert three types of tasks:

  • All tasks that are part of the standard workflow template - except Resolve Issues.
  • A number of custom tasks commonly used for inserting.
  • A completely user defined task, labelled as Other. 

Note: it is currently not possible to search for such tasks by task name.

To insert a single task before a task

  1. Right-click a task and choose Insert Task(s) Before. The Insert Task window opens.
  2. Choose the task from the Name pull-down list.
  3. Edit the Role, Duration, or Description as needed. If you are inserting a task of the type Other, you must also specify a Name.
  4. Click OK. The new task is inserted in workflow task list. If the task you inserted it before was active, the new task is now the active task.  

See also Editing workflow templates

To insert a predefined series of tasks

  1. Right-click a task and choose Insert Task(s) Before. The Insert Task window opens.
  2. Choose a series from the Preset Series of Tasks pull-down list and click Load. The list of predefined tasks appears in the task table.
  3. Edit the individual tasks as necessary.
  4. Click OK. The new tasks are inserted in the workflows task list. If the task you inserted them before was active, the first of the new tasks is now the active task.

To insert a custom series of tasks

  1. Right-click a task and choose Insert Task(s) Before. The Insert Task window opens, showing a single task.
  2. Click More until you have the number of tasks you need.
  3. Edit the individual tasks as necessary.
  4. Click OK. The new tasks are inserted in the workflows task list. If the task you inserted them before was active, the first of the new tasks is now the active task.     

To reorder tasks

  1. Click a task and click Move Up or Move Dn.

To delete inserted tasks

  1. Right-click the inserted task and choose Delete Inserted task. The task is deleted from the task list.

     Note: Inserted tasks can be deleted from the workflow's task list as long as they are Not Started.