When you begin using the workflow system, you will (in some cases, at least) be starting workflows for reviews that have already progressed further than the initial tasks listed in the workflow. In such cases, you can choose either to skip a range of tasks as part of starting the workflow, or complete (and/or skip) those tasks individually after starting the workflow. The latter option has the advantage of allowing you to accurately record any decisions made in relation to already completed tasks as part of the workflow's History. It is not possible to edit the dates under History to a date before the start of the workflow to indicate when the task was actually completed, but you could record this information as part of a separate 'Notes made' event.

Archie automatically starts the next logical workflow once a given workflow is completed, carrying over the Workflow Roles assignments from the completed workflow. The order of workflow execution is:

° Title Registration 

→ Protocol Development

→ Review Development

→ Review Update

→ Review Update [repeated].

Review Update workflows are set up as Pending with a start date one year in the future.

You will generally only have a single workflow running for a review, and the system does not allow you to run two workflows of the same type for a review. But in some cases it can be relevant to have two different workflows active for the same review, for example, if a protocol amendment needs to be carried out during the review development. Note that you probably need to put the Review Development workflow on hold (e.g. by insertion of a custom Pause task) to avoid any confusion while the protocol amendment workflow is completed.

To start a workflow

  1. Locate the review you wish to create a workflow for.
  2. You can either,
    • Double-click the review and go to the Workflows tab. Click New Workflow.
    • Right-click the review and choose New > Workflow.
  3. Use the Workflow Template pull-down list to choose a relevant workflow template. See About workflow templates for details.
  4. Choose the start and end dates. See Editing a workflow for details.
  5. Assign the roles in the People tab. See Workflow roles for details.
  6. Pre-skip any already completed tasks in the Task tab. See Pre-skipping tasks for details.   
  7. Click Apply and then Start. 

See also:  Group role permissions, About workflows